NaNoWriMo is about more than just cranking out 50,000 words in a month and new content. It’s easy to get caught up in numbers and the very nice stats the website provides us, so here’s a gentle reminder that NaNo is more than that.

Last year, I did NaNo for the first time, and it actually wasn’t too bad. I got around 15,000 words done, which was a lot for me and more than the ~900 words I had going into November.

I’m probably not going to win this year either. So I’ve decided to view NaNoWriMo in a different light.

Instead of thinking up an all-new idea and then aiming to finish it in a month, I’m using this month as motivation to get more done on existing WIPs from last year. It’s also an excuse to finally stop procrastinating and just write.

It would be cool for my word count to hit that magic number 50,000, but it’s not the end of the world if it doesn’t. Besides, I’ll have (already have, as of now) a few thousand more words in my novel, and that’s enough for me.

So if you’re not hitting your goals the way you thought you would this year – don’t worry. You’ll have more of your story done than you did in October, and that’s the real goal here.


DISCLAIMER: This post was written by and belongs to me. Please do not reproduce, copy, repost, etc. any part of this work without my permission or without crediting me. It takes time and effort to write these. Thank you!